History of Indian Cricket

History of Indian Cricket

1700British brought Cricket to India
1721The first match played
1848the Parsi community in Bombay formed the OrientalCricket Club, the first cricket club to be established by Indians
1932 India made its debut as a Test-cricket-playing-nation in England, led by CK Nayudu,
1948 The team’s first series as an independent country was against Australia at Brisbane. Australia was led by Sir Don Bradman while India was led by Lala Amarnath.
1952India’s first ever Test victory came against England at Madras. India’s first series victory was against Pakistan later the same year
1961-62The first series win over England
1967-68India won their first series outside the subcontinent against New Zealand.
1970-71The Little Master, Sunil Gavaskar made his debut for India in the West Indies and immediately made an impact, scoring a total of 774 runs for the series and helping India to a 1-0 series win, their first ever win over the West Indies.
1983India won the Cricket World Cup, defeating West Indies in an exciting final.
1985India won the World Championship of Cricket in Australia.
1990 The era of the God of Cricket has begun, debut of Sachin
1998Sir Donald Bradman himself remarked that Tendulkar batting style was similar to his, this ended the debate of Lara vs Sachin for many, at least to Indians.
1999-00The great shock, the Fixing saga. Indians started boycotting its religion.
2001 Dadagiri era begins. Epic test series vs Aus, India won 2-1.

Match referee Mike Denness banned six India players. Wanna Know more? (follow the link)
2003 Runners-up in ODI World Cup. lost only to Australia twice, in final too.
2004309 against Pakistan in Multan. Guess who? First Indian to achieve the feat. Series win in Pakistan.
2005-06Chappel Saga
2007Horror in ODI World Cup.
Won inaugural T-20 World Cup. Mahi wave starts. Full details.
2008 IPL started. The commencement of new style of Indian cricket.
The Monkeygate scandal.
2011Mahi (Mahendra Singh Dhoni) and the team did it again. India won the ODI World Cup, for the 2nd time.
2012 IPL fixing reports start surfacing.
2013Few teams were banned along with few famed players. Details….
2017-19No. 1 ranked Test team in the world successively for 3 consecutive years.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Cricket Plays