Best Cricket Stadiums in India

As the population so the popularity for the cricket in India. India is famous for many cricket grounds and stadiums at different levels. There are major International cricket stadiums in India across all the cities.

Here is the brief details and list of Cricket stadiums in India

Eden Garden

In terms of capacity, Eden garden is one of largest cricket stadium in India. It ranks in capacity as the world’s third largest cricket stadium. The Bengal and the Kolkata cricket team are located here.

  • In 1864, Eden Garden was established.
  • The present capacity for seating is 66,349.

Few Memorable moments:
In 1996, Eden Gardens, Kolkata hosted the World Cup semi-finals.
Australia won first world cup and this ground is known as Australia’s lucky ground.
In 1991, Kapil Dev went into Eden Gardens with his first ODI hat-trick in Sri Lanka.
An unbroken relationship has been formed in Eden Gardens, Kolkata, between VVS Laxman and Rahul Dravid, 376.
Harbhajan Singh received 32 wickets in this series.

Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium

Located in Hyderabad the International Cricket Stadium is also known as Visaka. Hyderabad cricket association’s home ground as well. In contrast to other cricket grounds in India, the ground occupies over 16 hectares.

  • This is home ground of IPL Sunrisers Hyderabad team
  • The total seating capacity of ground is 55,000.
  • Among the cricket grounds in India, it ranks at second position.

Few Memorable moments:
In 2005, South Africa and India played their first ODI in November. Sachin Tendulkar won his 45th ODI century also won the man of the match award. It was regarded as a good venue for Indian cricket players. Cheteshwar Pujara scored his first test hundred, and also Ashwin took 12 test wicket.

Wankhede Stadium

It is one of the most popular cricket stadiums in India. The pitch of the Wankhede Stadium is set with red soil. This is located in Mumbai.

  • Wankhede stadium reportedly has a capacity of 45,000 seats.
  • With the help of Shri SK Wankhede and the MCA secretary, it was built.
  • In IPL, the Mumbai Indians team is playing.

Few Memorable moments:
On this ground, Spin Bowlers succeeded a lot. In the test match between India and Australia, this pitch has proved its bounce line. On this slope and also one of the risky ways batsmen are battling. In Wankhede, Mumbai, India won the 2nd World Cup in 2011. Ravi Shastri scored six sixes in one over during Ranji trophy. It ranks in third position on the list of top cricket stadiums in India.

Vidarbha Cricket Association Ground

In the town of Nagpur, in Maharashtra the Vidarbha cricket association is located. Its one of the oldest cricket stadiums in India. The first match was played here in the month October 1969. 

  • The capacity of the ground currently stands at 45,000.
  • In terms of indoor and training facilities it is one of the finest stadiums in India.

Few Memorable moments:
Mahendra Singh Dhoni scored 124 ODI races against Australia at VCA Stadium in 2009. There were four World Cup matches on this ground in 2011. At VCA stadium in Nagpur in 2011, Hashim Amla scored 253 rounds in India. It ranks in the fourth position among the cricket stadiums in India.

Sawai Mansingh Stadium

This ground is situated in Jaipur, Rathasthan. The SMS Stadium is popular name for it. This stadium was set during Sawai Raja Man Singh II.

  • The present seating capacity is 30,000.
  • The first ODI game was played in 1983 and India won.
  • In 1987, India and Pakistan played a test match.

Few Memorable moments:
This ground is known for the excellent batting performance of Mahendra Singh Dhoni. In 2005, he scored 183 against Srilanka. It comes in fifth place among the cricket stadiums in India.

List of all major Cricket Stadiums in India :

Brabourne Stadium, Mumbai
Feroz Shah Kotla, New Delhi
Gandhi Sports Complex Ground, Amritsar
Indira Gandhi Stadium, Vijayawada
Indira Priyadarshini Stadium, Visakhapatnam
Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium, New Delhi
Gandhi Stadium, Jalandhar
Green Park, Kanpur
Gymkhana Ground, Mumbai
Nehru Stadium, Kochi
Nehru Stadium, Margao, Goa
Barabati Stadium, Cuttack
Barkatullah Khan Stadium, Jodhpur
Vidarbha Cricket Association Ground (old), Nagpur
Nehru Stadium, Guwahati
Nehru Stadium, Chennai
Madhavrao Scindia Cricket Ground, Rajkot
Moin-ul-Haq Stadium, Patna
Captain Roop Singh Stadium, Gwalior
Dr DY Patil Sports Academy, Mumbai
Eden Gardens, Kolkata
ACA-VDCA Stadium, Visakhapatnam
Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium, Dharamsala
Holkar Cricket Stadium, Indore
K. D. Singh ‘Babu’ Stadium, Lucknow
Keenan Stadium, Jamshedpur
Sardar Vallabhai Patel Stadium, Ahmedabad
Lal Bahadur Shastri Stadium, Hyderabad
M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore
MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai
Moti Bagh Stadium, Baroda
Nahar Singh Stadium, Faridabad
Nehru Stadium, Indore
Nehru Stadium, Pune
Punjab Cricket Association Stadium, Chandigarh
Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad
University Ground, Lucknow
Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur
Reliance Stadium, Baroda
Sardar Patel Stadium, Motera, Ahmedabad
Sector 16 Stadium, Chandigarh
Sher-i-Kashmir Stadium, Srinagar
University Stadium, Thiruvananthapuram
Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai

(Source: Maps of India)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *